2 min read

Grand High Zeta Selects Six Members for 2018 Induction into the Order of Merit

Since 1935, Lambda Chi Alpha has recognized distinctive, lengthy, and dedicated service — particularly at the local chapter level — with election to the Order of Merit.

Every two years, the Fraternity recognizes dedicated alumni of our organization by awarding the Order of Merit to these men who have continuously given of themselves to the fraternity on a local or international level.  This award demonstrates appreciation for service to the fraternity, and outstanding individual and chapter accomplishments.

The Grand High Zeta has the authority to select up to 10 men for induction to the Order of Merit at each General Assembly. Before an official selection can be made, the Grand High Zeta carefully studies the fraternal service and character record of the proposed nominees. Considered Lambda Chi Alpha’s greatest distinction for volunteer service, the Order of Merit has been conferred upon fewer than 350 individuals, out of more than 286,000 initiated members.

During the April 2018 Board meeting, the Grand High Zeta approved the induction of six new members:

Robert J. Graveline – North Dakota (Epsilon-Zeta)

  • House corporation and alumni advisor volunteer for Epsilon-Zeta since 1971

David W. Landry – South Dakota (Alpha-Gamma)

  • Active house corporation and alumni association volunteer for Alpha-Gamma since 1984

Robert F. “Bob” McKinless – Cornell (Omicron)

  • Active chapter, house corporation, and alumni association volunteer at Omicron since 1967

Steve R. Parsons – Eastern Kentucky (Phi-Beta)

  • Active High Pi, house corporation, alumni association, and recruitment advisor at Chi Zeta (Illinois) since 2002

Rodney W. Roosevelt – Eastern Illinois (Phi-Alpha)

  • Involved as High Pi with Cameron University Colony, Eastern Illinois University, and University of Louisville and serves on advisory boards for other campuses, including Alpha-Omicron Zeta (Indiana). Volunteer at Headquarters educational programming for the Grand High Zeta, chapter advisors, and chapter officers.  Research agenda on alcohol and sexual assault in Fraternity men.

Raymond F. “Rick” Willeford – Georgia Tech (Beta-Kappa)

  • Active chapter, house corporation, and alumni advisory board volunteer for Beta-Kappa Zeta since 1975

These men will be presented with their awards during the Recognition Luncheon on Saturday, Aug. 4 at the 57th General Assembly and Stead Leadership Seminar in Jacksonville.

Click here to see a list of the previous Order of Merit recipients, including Walt Moser (Central Missouri) who is pictured above receiving his 2016 award from fellow Order of Merit recipient and Board of Councilor Rodger Lalli (Oklahoma).